The Spirit of Clemente – 10/9/2013 (Long Poetry By Boinkaz) #poem #pirates #buccos #poetry #playoffs #pittsburgh #clemente #baseball #gobucs

© By Boinkaz

World Series beer cans in 1971
I collected these when I was young.
We’d get tiny bats on bat day
and slam home a pingpong ball.

Yet I fell out of love with baseball in 1972

In Pittsburgh where I lived
the Pirates were like gods.
Five time world champions,
~ in 1960 against all odds.

Yet I fell out of love with baseball in 1972

But late the next December
we stayed up News Years night
with chips & pop, and radio
there wasnews of a missing flight

Yet I fell out of love with baseball in 1972

Robert Clemente, the baseball great,
had fallen from the sky.
His plane went down in water
we didn’t bother asking why

I fell out of love with baseball in 1972

Midst Auld Lang Syne
we were confused
by this sudden death
we didn’t know a sportsman’s life
existed beyond the 9th.

And I fell out of love with baseball in 1972

Yet now the Pittsburgh Pirates
have a chance to win
this game & series Pennant
and Clemente may be back.

I never watched the Pirates,
not since 1972
But now I flirt with baseball
just like all of you.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

